Parashat Va-etḥanan / Shabbat Naḥamu August 9, 2014

View / Print Bulletin 

Candle lighting time for Friday, August 8, 2014, 7:51 p.m.

Parashat Va-etanan /
Shabbat Naamu

13 Av, 5774/August 9, 2014
Triennial Cycle Year I: Deuteronomy 3:23-5:18
Etz Ḥayim Ḥumash, page 1005
Haftarah: Isaiah 40:1-26, page 1033

  1. (3:23-29) Moses pleads with God to enter the Promised Land.
  2. (4:1-24) An admonition to follow God’s laws to reserve the covenant.
  3. (4:25-40) If Israel breaks God’s law and worships idols, they will be scattered among the nations. However, God will not absolutely abandon them; when they repent, the will return.
  4. (4:41-49) Moses designates three cities of refuge east of the Jordan.
  5. (5:1-18) A recapitulation of the Ten Commandments.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Purchase Lulav & Etrog here

Stop the Sirens – Show Your Support for Israel

Candidates for 2015 Beth David Board of Directors

Mitzvah a Month

Make a Difference in the Life of an Isolated Senior

Minyan – Sunday 9:30 am & Monday – Thursday 7:00 p.m.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Saturday, August 9: Book Discussion Group – After lunch – about 1:30pm

Sunday, August 10: Jewish Families Group Gathering – 10:00am – 1:00pm

Monday, August 11: Lean in Circle – 7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Monday, August 11: Share Your Business Expertise – 7:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 17: CBD Jewish Artist Group – 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 17: Hazak – Hide & Seek – 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 19: Framework for Peace and Ethics for Reciprocity 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 20: Saratoga City Council Meeting – 7:00 p.m.

Friday, August 22: BBQ and Barkhu Recharge – 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 24: Community Trip to Israel Information Meeting – 10:00 am.

Wednesday, August 27: General Board Meeting – 7:45 p.m.

COMMUNITY HAPPENINGS

The Contemporary Jewish Museum

Sacred Shapes: Jewish Yoga at the JCC

Maccabi USA – Seeking Jewish Athletes 15 – 85