Parashat Emor – May 3, 2014

View/Print Bulletin

Candle lighting time for Friday, May 2, 2014, 7:42 p.m.

Parashat Emor

3 Iyar, 5774 / May 3, 2014
Triennial Cycle Year I: Leviticus 21:1-22:16
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 717
Haftarah: Ezekiel 44:15-31, page 735

  1. (21:1-9) Prohibitions against the priest coming near a dead person, and the marital laws of the priest.
  2. (21:10-15) The special holiness of the High Priest as related to bereavement and marital law.
  3. (21:16-24) A list of defects which disqualify the priest from serving.
  4. (22:1-9) Laws relating to priests who have been rendered ritually impure.
  5. (22:10-16) Who is permitted and who is forbidden to eat the meat of the sacrifices.

UPCOMING SERVICES

Friday, May 2: Shabbat Mishpaha (Family) Experience – 6:30 p.m

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Hadadashot Religious School

Mitzvah a Month

Scholarship Applications for Jewish Summer Camps – Due May 15th

Minyan – Sunday 9:30 am & Monday – Thursday 7:00 p.m.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Saturday, May 3: Heschel Havurah with Rabbi Ohriner – about 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 4: Israel ZmiRkudiya – 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Monday, May 5: Lean in Circle – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 10: New Member Shabbat – 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 10: Book Discussion Group – 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

Monday, May 12: Share Your Business Expertise – 7:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 17: Mussar Matters – after lunch about 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 18: Rewards/Lag B’Omer BBQ – 11:00 a.m.

Tuesday, May 20: Conversations in Jewish Learning – 7:30 – 9:00

Wednesday, May 27: Social Action Committee Meeting – 7:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 28: CBD General Board Meeting – 7:45 – 8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 3: Tikkun Leil Shaviout – A Love Letter from God – 9:00 p.m. – Midnight

Saturday, June 7: Moving Up Shabbat – 9:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

Sunday, June 8: An Evening of Comedy and Jazz in Honor of Rabbi Pressman – 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, June 28: Shabbat Services and Lunch in Honor of Rabbi Pressman – 9:30 a.m.

Monday, July 28: Jewish Heritage Night at AT&T Park – 7:15 p.m.

COMMUNITY

Sunday, May 4: Israel in World Relations – 11:00am – 2:00pm

Sunday, May 4: A Panel Discussion on Women’s Health – 1:00pm

Monday, May 5: PJ Library – Celebrate Israel’s Birthday – 5:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, May 7: Embracing Life’s Transitions – 7:30 p.m.

Volunteer Instructor at Senior ESL Class